Lagos terminal details

Lagos – Terminal Details

Lagos is the principal port of Nigeria situated on the Gulf of Guinea. The port is split into three main sections – Lagos, Apapa and Tin Can Island.

Tin Can Island is a self-contained port entered through Badagry Creek via a 200 wide channel, which has been dredged, to 8.5metres. Tin Can provides 11 berths including seven break-bulk general cargo berths, one Ro/Ro berth and one dry bulk cargo berth

There are various terminal operators handling the port berths under concession agreements with the Nigerian Port Authority. They include amongst others AP Moller Terminal (APMT),  Tincan Island Container Terminal (TICT), 5 Star Terminal, Port & Cargo Handling Services, Port & Terminal Mutliservices Limited (PTML), Jose Dam terminal, ENL Terminal Ltd and Greenview Terminal Ltd

To ensure efficient service the port has its own electricity supply power station with seven sub-stations throughout the port.

To maintain tight security the port has a separate system with a police station manned by the Nigerian Police Force backed up by private security organizations. Tin Can is linked to Apapa by a road bridge.

Draft at Berth 9.5metres
Draft at Harbour 8.2metres
Number of Deepwater Quays
Length of Quays 2.5kilometres
Cranage 6 electrical portal cranes (8-10 tons each) with an outreach of 25-28metres.

6 mobile cranes (8-10 tons each).

Rail connections: Non at Tin Can Island. Only Ijora Wharf (Iddo Island) and Apapa are connected to the

general railway system.


Nigeria Ports Authority (Lagos)

PMB 12588,

26/28 Marina


Tel.: +234 1260 0620

Fax: +234 1 263 0306

Leave a Comment